March 13, 2018

Consequences for Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol in Ohio

Written by Erb Legal LLC

Category: Criminal Defense

free consults available
(330) 446-3606

In this day and age, being charged with a DUI, DWI or OVI is a serious incident. With all of the campaigns used to combat drunk driving, it still remains a rather large issue in Ohio. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there were 10,874 deaths that resulted from drunk driving car crashes in 2017. These deaths accounted for 29 percent of all traffic fatalities in 2017. The state of Ohio does not take driving under the influence lightly. Being charged with a DUI can mean serious consequences, which is why it is always a good idea to hire a skilled DUI defense lawyer if you are facing these charges.

Administrative DUI Consequences

Before you are charged with a DUI, you can face administrative penalties for operating a vehicle while under the influence. You are deemed to have given consent to a chemical test in the state of Ohio if you are driving a vehicle. If you refuse to take a chemical test or you fail a chemical test, you will be subject to administrative penalties from the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Failing a chemical test a first time comes with a 90-day driver’s license suspension while refusing a chemical test results in a one-year suspension.

Criminal DUI Consequences

All states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico have passed measures that make it illegal to operate a vehicle when with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or greater. In Ohio, the legal threshold is the same, BAC .08, though you can be charged with a DUI even if your BAC is not over the legal limit, as long as the prosecutor can prove that you were intoxicated and/or impaired while you were driving.

For first-time DUI convictions, you can face serious penalties. A first offense can get you three days to six months in jail or can require you to complete a 72-hour certified driver intervention program (DUI school.) You can also expect to face fines, court costs and other fees when you are charged with or convicted of DUI. A first time offender can pay between $375 and $1,075, which does not include additional costs for things such as an ignition interlock device. You can also receive a court-ordered driver’s license suspension of one to three years.

Are You Facing DUI Charges? A Medina County DUI Defense Lawyer Can Help

Losing your driving privileges is only one of the punishments that could come from being charged and convicted of DUI. You could also be given hefty fines and even jail time, depending on your circumstances. If you are facing DUI or OVI charges, you need help from a qualified and experienced Medina DUI defense attorney. At Erb Legal LLC, we can help you fight for your right to drive and help you avoid harsh consequences at all costs. Call our office today at {P:P3:SUB:PHONE} to schedule a free consultation.

Sources:

https://crashstats.nhtsa.dot.gov/Api/Public/ViewPublication/812630

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4511

legal blog
view all blogs

We’re Ready to Help.

ERB Legal is the complete package for high caliber legal representation in and around Medina, Ohio.

free consults available
(330) 446-3606